New wave of mass coronavirus testing sessions announced by Junta

File photograph.
File photograph. / EFE
  • The voluntary Covid tests will be carried out in 28 municipalities spread across all eight provinces

The Junta de Andalucía's Ministry of Health will carry out mass Covid screenings in various municipalities in the coming days, following a decision made by the different Territorial High Impact Public Health Alert Committees.

The tests will be carried out in 28 Andalusian towns spread over all eight provinces. The precise dates will be announced in the next few days and people invited to the voluntary sessions them will receive a SMS text message with information about the time and location they will take place.

In Malaga province, there is just one session scheduled - in Villanueva del Trabuco. In Almeria, they will be held in Berja, Roquetas de Mar and Vícar. In Cadiz province it is only Alcalá de los Gazules. While in Cordoba, residents of La Guijarrosa, Hornachuelos, Peñarroya-Pueblo Nuevo and Fuente la Lancha will be called.

The Granada towns of Alpujarra de la Sierra, Otívar, La Peza, Chimeneas and Montefrío will also host mass screening sessions. In Huelva province they will be held in Alájar, Cabezas Rubias and Cortegana. In Jaén, the residents of Martos, Santisteban del Puerto, Jabalquinto, Torreperogil and Rus will be invited, while in Seville province, they will take place in Castilleja de Guzmán, Castilblanco de los Arroyos, Cazalla de la Sierra, El Pedroso, Gilena and El Saucejo.