German tourists in Palma de Mallorca, before the pandemic. File photograph. / SUR

Germany lowers its Covid travel risk for five Spanish regions, but not the Costa del Sol

Berlin's decision will benefit the Asturias, Castilla-La Mancha, Catalonia, Valencia and the Canary Islands - but not Spain's Andalucía region


Germany, one of the most important international markets for holidaymakers on the Costa del Sol, has lowered it coronavirus travel risk list for five regions in Spain, but has not included the Andalusian region.

The German government's Foreign Ministry said, «Currently there are warnings against unnecessary tourist trips to Spain. But, from August 22, 2021, it no longer applies to the autonomous regions of the Asturias, Castilla-La Mancha, Catalonia, the Valencian Community and the Canary Islands.»

The rest of the country, including Andalucía, continues in the 'high-risk' tourist areas classification while the five regions mentioned become simply 'risk' areas, which means that travellers, over 12 years old, from these regions will no longer have to quarantine for ten days when returning to Germany. However, when entering the country, the presentation of a negative test or a vaccination certificate will continue to be mandatory.