he change will allow the number of people who can be at the same table to be increased. / E.C.

Covid measures eased as more than 70 towns in Malaga province move to health alert Level 1

Vélez-Málaga, Ronda and Antequera, are among the municipalities that will be able to ease their coronavirus restrictions due to the improvement of the pandemic indicators


More than 70 municipalities in Malaga province will move to health alert Level 1, the least restrictive of all those set by the Junta de Andalucía, on Thursday morning. They are the towns in the Serranía, La Vega and Axarquía health districts.

The other three health districts of the province (Malaga, Costa del Sol and Guadalhorce) will remain at Level 2 for at least one more week, the territorial alert committee decided this Wednesday, 1 September.

The change will allow the number of people who can be at the same table to be increased to ten on terraces and eight indoors, compared to eight on terraces and six indoors on Level 2.

The move to Level 1 also allows greater capacity in shops (up to one hundred per cent) and in culture (up to 85 per cent in theatres, cinemas and auditoriums).

Indoor celebrations will have a maximum of 250 people at Level 1 and conferences may be attended by up to a thousand people indoors and up to 1,500 outdoors.

Wakes are limited to a maximum of 40 people in the open air and bullfights will be allowed to increase their capacity to 75 per cent.

Which Malaga municipalities move to Level 1?

The territorial committee has agreed, due to the improvement of the parameters that measure the progress of the coronavirus pandemic, that the towns in the Serranía, La Vega and the Axarquía health districts can ease their restrictions.

Specifically, they are: Benaoján, Cortes de la Frontera, Jimera de Líbar, Montejaque, Algatocín , Atajate, Benadalid, Benalauría, Benarrabá, Gaucín, Genalguacil, Jubrique, Alpandeire, Arriate, El Burgo, Cartajima, Cuevas del Becerro, Faraján, Igualeja, Júzcar, Parauta, Pujerra, Ronda, Serrato, Montecorto, Almargen, Campillos, Cañete Real, Sierra de Yeguas, Teba, Alameda, Fuente de Piedra, Humilladero, Mollina, Antequera, Valle de Abdalajís, Villanueva de la Concepción, Villanueva del Rosario, Archidona, Cuevas Bajas, Cuevas de San Marcos, Villanueva de Algaidas, Villanueva de Tapia , Villanueva del Trabuco, Alfarnate, Alfarnatejo, Casabermeja, and Colmenar.

The new measures will take effect at midnight on Wednesday night.