SUR launches culinary Who's Who guide with awards ceremony

Award winners, authorities and organisers.
Award winners, authorities and organisers. / SUR
  • Restaurants, chefs and critics gathered at Anantara Villa Padierna Palace resort on Thursday

Chefs and restaurant owners picked up awards on Thursday at the launch of SUR's new Who's Who in gastronomy bilingual guide. The Anantara Villa Padierna Palace resort in Benahavís was the venue for the event presented by critic Enrique Bellver, who explained some of the changes in this year's guide compared to previous editions.

Awards were presented to La Cosmopolita; to Rafael de la Fuente, for his career devoted to the hospitality industry; to Cristina Socorro, maître d' of the Hotel Molina Lario in Malaga; to Bruno and Giusepinna Filiponne of the Da Bruno restaurant group; to the Benahavís hotel and catering school; to La Deriva restaurant in Malaga; and to Paco Roncero for his restaurant 'O'.

The event, attended by some 300 guests, was opened by vice-president of the Diputación and head of the Sabor a Málaga brand, Juan Carlos Maldonado, with the closing words delivered by the Mayor of Benahavís, José Antonio Mena.