Press Association medals presented to Liz Parry and Fernando González

Rafael Salas, Adolfo Arjona, Sonia González, Liz Parry and Juan Gaitán.
Rafael Salas, Adolfo Arjona, Sonia González, Liz Parry and Juan Gaitán. / MIGUE FERNÁNDEZ
  • The former SUR in English editor, and the SUR photographer who died in December were among the journalists who received recognition on Thursday

The Malaga Press Association (APM) presented its Medallas de Honor on Thursday at an annual event to mark the feast day of the patron saint of journalists, St Francis de Sales.

This year's medals were awarded to former SUR in English editor Liz Parry for her 30-year career at this newspaper; to the director of the COPE radio station in Malaga for the last 25 years, Adolfo Arjona; and to Malaga journalist and poet Juan Gaitán.

Also this year, a special posthumous medal was awarded to Fernando González Aranda, the SUR photographer and photo editor who died in December at the age of 51.

The executive committee of the APM announced the posthumous award earlier this year in recognition of Fernando González's "brilliant professional career, as well as his human qualities and magnificent teamwork skills". His medal was collected by his sister Sonia.

Liz Parry adds this new medal to her BEM awarded by Queen Elizabeth II in 2017 for her contribution to the British community in Spain. She received the award from the association's president, Rafael Salas, saying that there's nothing like recognition from fellow journalists.

She stressed the role SUR in English has played in "linking communities" in southern Spain over the last three decades. The newspaper was a "pioneer" she pointed out, when it was started by Pedro Luis Gómez, Juan Soto, Joaquín Marín and Joan and Gerry Davies, to whom "I owe my career at SUR in English".

Liz also had special words of thanks for her "fantastic team" with special mentions for former advertising manager Eve Browne, former reporter and translator Kate Rayner and the newspaper's current editor, Rachel Haynes.