Picardo wins Gibraltar general election

Picardo on Friday morning.
Picardo on Friday morning. / EFE
  • The GSLP-Liberals go into their third term of office at the helm of the Gib government with 52.5% of votes

  • GSD gained 25.6% of votes while newcomers Together Gibraltar make a significant debut with 20.5%

The GSLP-Liberals have won the General Election in Gibraltar that took place on Thursday. The party led by Chief Minister Fabian Picardo has been voted in for a third four-year term with 52.5 per cent of the votes. Picardo received the highest number of votes, at 9,961.

GSD's Keith Azopardi.

GSD's Keith Azopardi. / EFE

There was a considerable gap between this result and the GSD, which received 25.6 per cent of votes, but an impressive performance by newcomers Together Gibraltar, who received 20.5 per cent. TG’s leader, Marlene Hassan Nahon, received 5,639 votes, the highest number in the opposition parties.

Independent candidates Robert Vazquez and JC Pons received 0.92 and 0.53 per cent of the votes, respectively.

Gibraltar’s new parliament now looks like this:

GSLP MPs: Fabian Picardo, Dr Joseph García, John Cortes, Albert Isola, Sir Joe Bossano, Gilbert Licudi, Steven Linares, Paul Balban, Samantha Sacramento and Vijay Daryanani, who stood for election after former Health minister Neil Costa decided to withdraw from politics for personal reasons.

Marlene Hassan Nahon of Together Gibraltar.

Marlene Hassan Nahon of Together Gibraltar. / EFE

GSD: Damon Bossino, Daniel Feetham, Keith Azopardi, Roy Clinton, Elliott Phillips, Edwin Reyes.

Together Gibraltar: Marlene Hassan Nahon.

The turnout for this election was 70.84 per cent, very slightly above the turnout for the last election in 2015 (70.77 per cent).

Fabian Picardo recently announced that, if the GSLP-Liberals should win this general election, it would be his last term as GSLP leader, a post he will by then have held for 12 years.