A Guardia Civil control. / SUR

Junta reveals the four towns in Andalucía where it will seek a night curfew this week

The request for the limit on freedom of movement must be ratified by the region's Superior Court of Justice


The list of large towns where the Junta de Andalucía will request a night curfew, in an effort to control the spread of the coronavirus, has been slashed by half in a week.

After analysing the data, the regional government will ask for a limit on night movement - from 2am to 7am - in four municipalities, compared to eight last week, where the Covid-19 cumulative incidence rate is above a thousand cases per 100,000 poplulation.

In the virtual meeting of the Territorial Committees of High Impact Public Health of the eight Andalusian provinces held this Wednesday, 18 August, it has been decided to request a restriction on the freedom of movement at night in the following municipalities:

Jaén province: Bailén, Mengíbar and Villanueva del Arzobispo

Seville province: Villaverde del Río

The lockdown measures will not enter into force until they are ratified, if deemed appropriate, by the region's top court, the Superior Court of Justice of Andalucía (TSJA) and then published in the BOJA Official Gazette