Conil de la Frontera is one of the towns where a curfew has been requested. / SUR

Eight major towns in Andalucía face Junta calls for a coronavirus night curfew

If the lockdown requests are ratified by the region's Superior Court of Justice they will remain in effect for seven days


The fifth wave of the coronavirus pandemic continues to advance strongly in Andalucía and, for this reason, the territorial committees of High Impact Public Health in the region's eight provinces have proposed curfews in more large towns.

Last week there were three (Marbella, Estepona and Montoro) and this week the list has gone goes up to eight.

According to the specific evaluation reports the Junta de Andalucía is calling for the restriction of movement at night, from 2am to 7am, for having exceeded the cumulative incidence rate of 1,000 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the following municipalities:

Cadiz: Conil de la Frontera and Paterna de Rivera

Huelva: Punta Umbría

Jaén: Mengíbar

Malaga: Campillos

Seville: Marchena, Tocina and El Cuervo de Sevilla

The restrictions will not come into force until they have been ratified by the Superior Court of Justice of Andalusia, the TJSA.