Malaga produced the biggest shock of the match day on Sunday afternoon as they claimed all three points at Carranza, home of league leaders Cadiz.
Sergio Pellicer's side pulled off a tactical masterclass to nullify their opponents who before the match sat five points clear at the top of Segunda. With a slight variation on his normal 4-3-3, the caretaker coach played Juanpi in a slightly more advanced role in front of two banks of four.
This limited the space in which Cadiz could operate with Salvi Sánchez passing up his side's only real chance of the first half, skying over the bar from a tight angle.
Malaga, however, had the ball in the back of the net just before half time when captain Adrián hooked the ball in off the underside of the crossbar. Referee Juan Luis Pulido Santana, however, adjudged Armando Sadiku to have fouled keeper Alberto Cifuentes when he seemed to get caught in no man's land trying to punch Luis Hernández's long throw. The VAR confirmed that decision to the Malaga players' disbelief.
The video assisant referee, however, levelled things up in the second half when Alfonso Espino's handball as he tried to stop Tete Morente's burst into the penalty area was spotted. The referee consulted the pitch-side monitor and pointed to the spot without a moment's hesitation. Adrián stepped up and tucked the penalty into the bottom left corner, in spite of Cifuentes' fingertips.
Malaga could have doubled their lead through Dani Pacheco's spectacular volley from distance but Cifuentes had other ideas.
The visitors stuck to their game plan and but for a nervy Diego González challenge in the area, Cadiz were unable to overtly trouble Munir during the remainder of the game.
The victory left Pellicer very satisfied. The Malaga caretaker said it was "important to claim back-to-back victories" to increase the gap to the drop zone to five points. "The final result shows that we did a good job."