Malaga crowned league champions

Málaga CF Femenino won the league with victory in Cártama on Sunday.
Málaga CF Femenino won the league with victory in Cártama on Sunday. / ÑITO SALAS
  • A 4-0 win over Pozoalbense secured the title; now the playoffs will decide their promotion fate

The Cártama municipal stadium became a party venue when the referee blew the final whistle. After an immaculate season, Málaga CF Femenino sealed the league title, with a game to spare, and confirmed their place in the playoffs for promotion to the top flight.

As with almost all of their second division games this season, Malaga were far superior to their opponents. Pozoalbense set out in Cártama with the intention of causing an upset but only came close to Chelsea's goal on a couple of occasions.

Despite this, the side managed by Antonio Contreras were not able to make their dominance pay and made fans wait for the opening goal. After numerous attempts, Meri put the hosts in front in the 21st minute, seizing on a loose ball in the Pozoalbense area. The assault on their goal continued but Malaga could only count on a single goal lead going into the break.

Complete dominance

Malaga didn't step off the gas in the second half and went for the kill. Adriana, who was at the heart of much of her side's attacking play, scored her side's second in the 54th minute with a strike the keeper could do nothing about.

The third goal was scored by María Ruiz, who pounced to score a header from a rebound.

Adriana bagged her brace in stoppage time (the captain's 42nd of the season) sealing a 4-0 win and a championship medal, to the delight of the crowd who chanted their support throughout.

Now most of the hard work is done: Malaga are champions after claiming 65 out of a possible 72 points, scoring 119 goals and conceding just six in the process. It all comes down to the playoffs for the right to compete in the top flight next season.

Each of the champions in the second tier (in which there are seven groups) progress to the playoffs to compete for two promotion places. The seven teams will compete in either a mini league of three or a play-off of four (depending on the draw) and the winners of each will earn promotion to Primera.

“It will come down to luck,” said head coach Antonio Contreras who expressed his dislike for a knock-out system. “The most important thing is that we continue to work hard, come what may.”