Pahalampi crowned inline hockey champions for second year in a row

The Finnish side scored in extra time to take the trophy
The Finnish side scored in extra time to take the trophy / Nimo Tynys
  • The Finnish side equalised in the last minute of the final before scoring the winning goal in extra time to take the title

Last weekend, Fuengirola played host to its seventh international inline hockey tournament, with a host of international teams split into two groups of four. There were mixed fortunes for the two Fuengirola teams, as the Barona Lions won all of their games to top their group whereas the Fuengirola Lions lost all of their games.

As such, the two sides met in the quarter-finals, with the former side thrashing the other home side 10-0. The Barona Lions advanced to play Pahalampi from Finland, who they had beaten 6-1 in the group stages. However, on this occasion the Finnish side were more tactically aware and secure a 5-3 victory to reach the final.

In the other semi-final, Kattotutkat looked to create an all-Finnish final as they played The Others, from the UK. However, it wasn’t to be, with the British side winning 4-1.

The final was a tense affair, with Pahalampi equalising just seconds before the buzzer to leave the scores at 3-3 and force extra time. After surviving a penalty play, Kevin Whalen was able to score from Jussi Puuska’s pass to crown Pahalampi champions for the second successive year.

Awards for the best goalkeeper, best defender and most valuable player of the tournament were given to Dan Barlow from Pahalampi, Matt Sewell from The Others and Jussi Puuska from Pahalampi respectively.

The tournament was a huge success with Fuengirola looking ahead to the international juniors’ tournament on 25 and 26 February.