Spain expands the list of countries whose passengers must be quarantined upon arrival

Security forces may carry out checks on compliance at any time. File photograph.
Security forces may carry out checks on compliance at any time. File photograph. / EFE
  • The objective is to control the spread of the South African and Brazilian variants of the coronavirus

Spain's Ministry of Health has expanded the number of countries on the list that establishes which travellers must quarantine when arriving in Spain to control the spread of the coronavirus and, particularly, the South African and Brazilian strains.

According to the order, published this Wednesday (3 March) in the BOE Official State Gazette, passengers from any airport in Brazil, South Africa, Botswana, Colombia, Union of Comoros, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Peru, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe must quarantine on arrival.

Travellers from these countries must remain in isolation for the ten days or during their entire stay if it is less than this period. However, the quarantine may end earlier if on the seventh day the person undergoes a diagnostic test for the coronavirus with a negative result.

This order, which will come into force on 8 March will have an initial validity of 14 calendar days.

It establishes that people must stay at their home or accommodation, limiting their travel or the visit of third parties to the purchase of food, pharmaceutical and basic necessity products and visits to health centres.

Health authorities have warned that they may contact people in quarantine to monitor them and security forces may carry out the appropriate checks on quarantine compliance at any time.

They said that any people in quarantine with possible symptoms of Covid-19 should contact the health services by phone using the numbers enabled by the regions.

The order also states that travel agencies, tourism operators and transport companies must inform travellers of these measures at the beginning of the booking process selling tickets to Spain.