Bars and shops must continue to close at 6pm in Marbella, Estepona and 35 other Malaga province towns

Torremolinos town centre.
Torremolinos town centre. / ÑITO SALAS
  • Municipalities in the Serranía de Ronda and the Costa del Sol health districts will have to wait at least one more week to see if their restrictions will be eased

Marbella, Estepona and 35 other towns, belonging to the Serranía de Ronda and Costa del Sol health districts, will have to keep their current 6pm closing times in bars, restaurants and shops.

The rest of Malaga province, including the city, being at risk level 2, can open establishments until 9.30pm as they have been able to for the past week.

The Junta de Andalucía’s public health alerts committee has this Thursday (11 March) updated the risk levels of all the municipalities of Andalucía based on different parameters, such as the cumulative incidence rate, pressure on hospitals and the rate of infections among those over 65 years of age - the main risk group in the coronavirus pandemic.

As a result of the regional government’s announcement, shops, bars and restaurants will have to continue lowering the shutters at 6pm in the following towns in Malaga province: Marbella, Estepona, Benalmádena, Torremolinos, Fuengirola, Mijas, Manilva, Ojén, Istán, Casares, Benahavís, Ronda, Serrato, Pujerra, Parauta, Montejaque, Montecorto, Júzcar, Jubrique, Jimera de Líbar, Igualeja, Genalguacil, Gaucín, Faraján, Cuevas del Becerro, Cortes de la Frontera, Cartajima, El Burgo, Benarrabá, Benaoján, Benalauría, Benadalid, Atajate, Arriate, Alpandeire, Algatocín and Árchez.