These are the 27 towns in Andalucía with border lockdowns from this Friday

Municipal border controls. File photograph.
Municipal border controls. File photograph. / SUR
  • Nine locations in the region will have all non-essential activity suspended too

From Friday morning, March 5, some 27 municipalities in Andalucía will have perimeter closures limiting mobility and nine of them also will have all non-essential activity suspended too, for exceeding the cumulative incidence rates of 500 and 1,000 cases of Covid-19 for 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days.

According to the latest data from the Junta de Andalucía’s Ministry of Health, the 27 towns above the rate of 500 incidence rate cases are distributed throughout all the provinces except Huelva, which does not have any. Granada province registers eight, Seville seven, Almeria five, Malaga three, Jaén two and Cadiz and Cordoba with one each.

Only Granada and Almería, with three, and Seville, Malaga and Jaén provinces, with one each, have towns that exceed the rate of 1,000 infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days where the suspension of all non-essential activity is ordered as well as a municipal border lockdown

Perimeter lockdowns and the suspension of non-essential activity

Specifically, the towns that exceed the rate of 1,000 cases are Santa Cruz del Comercio (3,013.2), La Calahorra (1,796.4) and Alhama de Granada (1,193.1) in the province of Granada; Montejaque (2,529) in the province of Malaga; Castillo de las Guardas (1,771.1) in the province of Seville; Hornos (2,356.9) in the province of Jaén; and Instinción (1,339.3), Paterna del Río (1,095.9) and Líjar (1,015.2) in the province of Almeria.

Municipal border controls

The municipalities with a rate higher than 500 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in 14 days are Viator and Pulpí in the province of Almeria; Alcalá del Valle in the province of Cadiz; and El Viso in the province of Cordoba.

In Granada, in addition to Santa Cruz del Comercio, La Calahorra and Alhama that exceed the 1,000 rate, five other locations are above 500 cases: Vélez de Benaudalla, Zújar, Cacín, Fornes and Jayena.

In Jaén, apart from Hornos with a rate above 1,000, another single municipality, Cambil, exceeds the rate of 500, while in the province of Malaga two towns, Árchez and Benaoján, register a rate between 500 and 1,000 cases while Montejaque exceeds the 1,000 figure.

In Seville there are six - Alanís, El Garrobo, Lora del Río, Tocina, Los Molares and Montellano - which are added to the one over a thousand - El Castillo de las Guardas

Perimeter closusres lifted

Among the towns with more than 10,000 inhabitants that will have the perimeter closure lifted from Thursday midnight for lowering the cumulative incidence rate of 500 coronavirus cases per 100,000 residents in 14 days are Vera (Almeraa), Barbate (Cadiz), Guadix (Granada), Brenes (Seville) and Guillena (Seville).