These are the 25 municipalities of Malaga that will open their borders this weekend

Benalmádena. File photograph.
Benalmádena. File photograph. / SUR
  • Malaga city, Mijas, Fuengirola, Benalmádena and Alhaurín de la Torre are among the towns where mobility will be allowed as of Saturday

In addition to Malaga city, another 25 towns and villages across the province will be allowed to reopen their municipal borders from this Saturday as coronavirus mobility restrcitions are eased.

They are: Mijas, Benalmádena, Fuengirola, Alhaurín de la Torre, Cártama, Coín, Álora, Arenas, Arriate, Benarrabá, El Burgo, Canillas de Albaida, Cartajima, Casares, Colmenar, Cuevas de San Marcos, Genalguacil, Guaro, Jubrique, Pizarra, Teba, Villanueva de Tapia and Yunquera.

All these localities last week registered an accumulated incidence of more than 500 infections per hundred thousand inhabitants in the last fourteen days, a limit set by the Junta de Andalucía to order perimeter lockdowns.

However, having lowered that rate, the high-impact public health alerts committee meeting today will decree their border re-openings from Saturday, a measure that will be published this Friday in the BOJA Official Gazette.

The Junta de Andalucía orders the perimeter lockdowns when the municipalities exceed 500 cases per one hundred thousand people and also decrees the closure of all non-essential activity when the incidence rate exceeds one thousand infections.

Perimeter lockdowns, which refer to the prohibition of entering or leaving a town except for justified reasons, should not be confused with home confinement, which is not contemplated by the current state of alarm.

To move from one municipality to another it is necessary that both the origin and destination localities are below 500 cases.