Perimeter closures in Antequera and three other Malaga towns will be lifted on Wednesday

Police officers patrol municipal border closures. File photograph.
Police officers patrol municipal border closures. File photograph. / ÑITO SALAS
  • Árchez, Totalán and Torrox are the other towns to have fallen below 500 Covid-19 cases per 100,000 people in the past fortnight and will open their borders again

Monday's review of the cumulative incidence rate of coronavirus in Andalucía will lead to some changes in Malaga province, with four towns seeing their perimeter closures lifted from Wednesday.

Like every Monday and Thursday, the public health alerts committee analyses the data and the Junta de Andalucía can order the perimeter lockdown in towns that exceed 500 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the last fourteen days and also orders the closure of all non-essential activities in those locations that exceed a rate of 1,000 positive diagnoses per 100,000 people.

It is also decided what happens to the towns where these measures were applied two weeks ago and if they have reduced their infection rate below the established limits, the committee will notify the lifting of the restrictions. However, if they continue to exceed the parameters set by the regional government, the municipalities must maintain the resctrictions for at least another two weeks.

Of the nine towns that had to undergo perimeter lockdown (the prohibition to enter or leave the municipality except for justified cause) two weeks ago, five continue to exceed 500 infections per 100,000 inhabitants and will maintain this restriction: Ojén, Cuevas de San Marcos, Montejaque, Riogordo and Yunquera.

Montejaque, a small village in the Serranía de Ronda, must also close all non-essential activity for exceeding one thousand infections per hundred thousand inhabitants after ten positive diagnoses were detected triggering the incidence rate to climb.

Four municipalities have managed to reduce their incidence below 500 cases and, therefore, free themselves from the mobility movement limitation: Antequera, Árchez, Totalán and Torrox.

The announcements will be published in the Junta’s BOJA official gazette on Tuesday (8 February) to take effect from Wednesday morning.