The 55 towns and villages in Malaga province that have border closures from midnight Friday

Torremolinos will have a municipal border closure for at least two weeks.
Torremolinos will have a municipal border closure for at least two weeks. / ÑITO SALAS
  • Torremolinos faces a municipal perimeter closure and Ronda will close all non-essential activity due to the advance of Covid-19

Torremolinos, Viñuela, Archidona, Riogordo, Casabermeja, Humilladero, Cortes de la Frontera and Alozaina have exceeded 500 coronavirus infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the last fourteen days, one of the main indicators to measure the progress of the pandemic.

So the Junta de Andalucía has ordered the perimeter closure of these municipalities, a confinement that will last at least two weeks and will take effect from midnight tonight, Friday.

All the localities that reach this rate now have their municipal borders closed, that is, you cannot enter or leave except for just cause.

In the event that the rate reaches 1,000 cases, the regional government will also decree the closure of all non-essential activities, as will happen, also from midnight, in Ronda and Villanueva del Trabuco, where positive coronavirus diagnoses have skyrocketed in recent days.

Perimeter confinement (you cannot enter or leave the town or village) should not be confused with a stay-at-home lockdown where you cannot leave the house except to buy food or medicine. The current state of alarm does not allow for this last option, although several regions - including Andalucía - have unsuccessfully requested the Government to reform the decree to include this possibility.

The Junta updates the data regarding the accumulated incidence of infections every Monday and Thursday and takes two different measures, depending on the status of the pandemic.

Monday updates are effective from 12am on Wednesdays and Thursday updates from 12am on Saturdays.

Border closures

Municipalities with more than 500 cases per hundred thousand inhabitants pver 14 days will have their border closed, and those that register more than a thousand cases will also have to close all non-essential activity.

Currently exceeding 500 infections are Campillos, Alfarnatejo, Carratraca, Tolox, Cártama, Estepona, Manilva, Fuengirola, Mijas, Marbella, Benalmádena, Málaga city, Rincón de la Victoria, Teba, Almargen, Monda, Alameda, Salares, Ardales, Igualeja, El Borge, Benamocarra, Cartajima, Coín, Alhaurín el Grande, Algatocín, Alcaucín, Alfarnate, Villanueva del Rosario, Moclinejo, Gaucín, Álora, Faraján, Sayalonga, Comares, Vélez-Málaga, Genalguacil, Ronda, Algarrobo, Mollina, Cañete la Real, Benarrabá, Alhaurín de la Torre, Canillas de Albaida and Villanueva del Trabuco.

Perimeter restrictions and non-essential activities closed

Ronda and Villanueva del Trabuco are added to the towns with a virus incidence rate of more than one thousand infections per hundred thousand people, and where all non-essential activities are already closed: Cañete la Real, Alfarnate, Vélez-Málaga, Alcaucín, Moclinejo, Álora, Faraján, Teba, Almargen, Monda, Alameda, Salares, Ardales, Igualeja, El Borge, Benamocarra, Cartajima, Coín, Alfarnatejo, Alhaurín el Grande and Algatocín.

At the moment, none of these localities has fallen below a thousand positive diagnoses, although the Junta's measures will last for at least two weeks, regardless of whether the rate increases or decreases. After this period, the public health alerts committee will review the data and maintain the restrictions if the incidence rate has not decreased .

The president of the regional government, Juanma Moreno, has requested authorisation to order home confinement in these last towns, which register more than a thousand cases per hundred thousand inhabitants. The Government of Pedro Sánchez has refused this request and the Minister of Health, Salvador Illa, has called for patience "because the measures taken today are not noticeable tomorrow, but within two weeks".