Parliament asks for speed increase from 80 to 90 km/h on stretches of A-7 and A-45

Parliament asks for speed increase from 80 to 90 km/h on stretches of A-7 and A-45
  • In a PSOE-led initiative, a committee has also said that speed cameras should be removed where accident levels are low

Malaga. Ciudadanos, Podemos and smaller political parties have joined forces with the PSOE Socialist party to have a parliamentary committee approve an increase in the controversial 80 km/h speed limit on parts of the A-7 and A-45 motorways.

As part of the same vote, local Malaga Socialists, led by Miguel Ángel Heredia, managed to get agreement for speed cameras to be removed from local trunk roads where accidents have been reduced to a minimum. The PP party voted against the measures.

The vote means that stretches of the A-7 main motorway along the Costa del Sol that had their speed limits lowered to 80 km/h a few years ago could go up to 90 km/h. At the same time, the stretch of the A-45, (the older motorway into Malaga from Antequera and Granada where limits are at 80 km/h), could also see its limit raised. Many motorists have been caught out by speed cameras here over the last few years.

Speaking after the non-binding vote, Heredia said that he hoped that the government would “take on board parliament's decisions and adopt the measures voted by the committee”.

Province with most fines

He highlighted that Malaga is the province where the most money in traffic fines is collected, recalling that from 1 January to 21 June this year the DGT traffic department collected 4.85 million euros in fines on the main road network in Malaga controlled by central government.

“Nobody understands how, if Malaga has the sixth biggest population in Spain, it is the second by volume in traffic fines being given out,” added Heredia.

The ruling PP party in Madrid has said that it is unlikely to take the speed cameras down on the A-45 section by Casabermeja as “they have managed to reduce accidents by 300 per cent since they were put up in 2014.”